Blog PLRU Open reva

Depop Fees for Sellers

Why the same sale costs very different amounts in London and in Warsaw.

Two receipts for a £30 top and a €30 top on Depop, showing processing only in the UK and a 10% selling fee elsewhere
Key takeaways
  • Sellers based in the UK, US and Australia pay no Depop selling fee, but they do pay payment processing. In the UK it is 2.9% + £0.30, charged on item price plus shipping and taxes.
  • Selling in any other currency brings a 10% selling fee, which also covers postage when you don't use a Depop label, plus PayPal's fee, which Depop doesn't state.
  • A boost costs 12% in the UK and US, and only when a buyer who interacted with the boosted listing buys within 28 days. Depop's two help pages disagree on where the 8% rate applies.
  • On a refunded sale Depop reverses its selling, processing and boosting fees. Its fees page doesn't say whether PayPal's fee comes back.
  • Depop's Terms effective 2 September 2026 allow crosslisting through third-party platforms, if you delist promptly and handle any double sale yourself.

Depop fees depend on where you are based and which currency you sell in. Sellers in the UK, US and Australia pay no selling fee, only payment processing, which is 2.9% + £0.30 in the UK. Everyone else pays a 10% selling fee plus PayPal's fee, and a boost adds 12% or 8%, but only when the boost led to the sale.

This page covers both fee regimes as Depop's help pages stated them on 13 September 2026, including which charges also apply to postage. It then covers boosts and refunds, the crosslisting clause in Depop's new Terms, and one worked example run through both regimes. For the profit method that applies on every marketplace, see the reselling profit guide.

Depop seller fees by region
UKUSAustraliaOther currencies
Selling feeNo0%No0%No0%Yes10% of item price, + shipping without a Depop label
Payment processingYes2.9% + £0.30Yes3.3% + $0.45Yes2.6% + A$0.30YesPayPal's fee, rate not stated by Depop
Boost fee, only if the boost led to the saleYes12%Yes12%Yes8%Partly8% on the fees page, not on the Boosted Listings page
Fees reversed on a refunded saleYesYesYesPartlyDepop's fees; PayPal's not stated
Buyer-side marketplace feeNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
From Depop's seller fees and Boosted Listings help pages. The fees page gives 8% for boosts outside the UK and US, while the Boosted Listings page names only Australia. Depop has a help article on a buyer marketplace fee that we did not read, so no amount is given.From public product pages, checked 2026-09-13

Selling fee: UK, US and Australia

Depop's seller fees page says: "No Depop Selling fees will be charged to sellers based in the UK, US, or AUS". The page shows no "last updated" date. Press coverage gives a date when the UK and US selling fees were dropped, but no official Depop page we could reach confirms it, so we don't quote it.

Decision rule: if you compare Depop with a platform that takes a commission from UK sellers, set that commission against Depop's processing fee plus any boost, not against zero. Vestiaire Collective seller fees is one commission model for fashion to compare with.

Payment processing fees

UK, US and Australian sellers are paid through Depop Payments, which runs on Stripe. The rates are in the table above. The base they are charged on matters more than the rates:

UK processing fee = 2.9% × (item price + shipping + any taxes) + £0.30

So the buyer's postage counts towards the fee, even though you don't keep it. When you check what a UK sale costs you, start from the total the buyer pays, not the item price. UK sellers joining Depop Payments must also agree to a Bacs Direct Debit mandate.

Depop fees in Europe and other countries: 10% plus PayPal

For sellers outside the UK, US and Australia, the fees page lists a 10% selling fee on all sales. It links this regime to selling in a currency other than GBP, USD or AUD, and it names no countries. Payment processing then goes through PayPal. Depop gives no PayPal rate and says only that the fee varies by location and account.

The 10% is charged on:

  • With a Depop shipping label: the item price, excluding taxes.
  • With shipping you arrange yourself: the item price plus the shipping charge.

Decision rule: if you ship without a Depop label, 10% of the postage goes to Depop too, so add it to the cost of your own shipping when you compare the two options.

Decision rule: if you haven't looked up your PayPal rate yet, treat any fee you work out as a minimum, not the total.

Depop's pages we read don't confirm which European countries can sell on Depop, Poland included. They also don't say outright that pricing in euros puts a given country under the 10%. Check both for your own country before you buy stock for Depop. Vinted vs Depop for resellers sets the two fee models side by side.

Boosted listings: 12% or 8% and the 28-day rule

A boost costs nothing up front. Depop charges it only when all of these are true:

  • The listing was boosted, either on its own or through "Boost Shop", which boosts every current and new listing
  • The buyer viewed, clicked or liked the boosted listing
  • The buyer bought within 28 days of that interaction

Unboosting doesn't cancel the fee for a buyer who has already seen the boosted listing.

Rates. In the UK and US the boost fee is 12% of the item price, excluding tax, plus shipping if you arranged it yourself. The fees page marks this rate for "new listings from 23 March 2026". Depop's pages disagree on the 8% rate. The fees page applies it "outside of the UK and US", while the Boosted Listings page names only Australia. If you sell outside those three countries, don't assume either rate until you have checked it for your own account.

Example: a boosted £30 top sold in the UK with a Depop label pays 12% × £30 = £3.60 for the boost, on top of processing.

Decision rule: if you use Boost Shop, any item can carry the boost fee once a buyer has seen it, including low-margin items you would never have boosted on their own.

Refunds and fee reversal

Depop's fees page says that on a refunded sale all fees are reversed, meaning the selling, processing and boosting fees. With Depop Payments this happens automatically.

Decision rule: if you are paid through PayPal, count only Depop's own fees as returned. The page doesn't say whether PayPal's fee comes back, and it lists fees only, not what you spent on packaging.

Crosslisting rules in Depop's terms

Depop's Terms of Service, "Effective from 2 September 2026", say you "may simultaneously list your items for sale on other platforms and/or marketplaces … via third party cross-listing platforms". Three conditions apply:

  1. You fully comply with the Terms.
  2. You remove the item from Depop promptly if it sells elsewhere.
  3. You accept full responsibility if it sells on both, including refunding the buyer.

The same Terms say you may not "mine data, scrape or crawl the Service … or use any bots or other third party software on the Service". Depop doesn't explain how that ban fits with the crosslisting permission, and we don't interpret it for you. Before you connect a tool to your Depop account, read both clauses in the current Terms and ask the tool's provider, or Depop, what the tool does on Depop itself.

Marketplace automation rules sets Depop's wording beside other marketplaces' clauses on bots and tools. The crosslisting guide covers the delisting routine that keeps you within the "promptly" condition.

Decision rule: if an item sells twice, the Terms put the refund on you. Depop reverses its fees on a refunded Depop order, but the other platform's fees follow that platform's rules.

reva doesn't support Depop. If you also source stock on Vinted, OLX or Allegro Lokalnie, reva's Scout finds listings there priced below their market and gives each find a five-level price estimate.

Worked example: a £30 top in the UK and a €30 top elsewhere

Example: the same top sells for £30 from a UK-based seller and for €30 from a seller pricing in euros. Postage is £4 or €4, with no taxes and no boost. The euro side shows Depop's 10% only, because Depop gives no PayPal rate.

UK seller: processing = 2.9% × (£30 + £4) + £0.30 = £1.29 Elsewhere, Depop label: selling fee = 10% × €30 = €3.00 Elsewhere, own shipping: selling fee = 10% × (€30 + €4) = €3.40 Elsewhere, both cases: + PayPal fee, not included
Depop fees as a share of a £30 or €30 item price
UK seller: processing only4.3%
Elsewhere, Depop label: 10% selling fee, PayPal excluded10%
Elsewhere, own shipping: 10% on item + postage, PayPal excluded11.3%
Example with £4 or €4 postage. The two non-UK bars are lower bounds, because PayPal's fee is left out.Illustrative example, not market data

Postage behaves differently in the two regimes. In the UK it always raises the fee, because processing is charged on shipping. Elsewhere it raises the fee only when you ship without a Depop label.

To run your own prices, use the calculator below:

  • UK seller: under Marketplace preset, pick "Depop — UK seller (£)" and enter the item price plus postage as Sale price.
  • 10% regime: pick "Custom — enter your own fee", then set Percentage fee to 10 and Fixed fee per order to 0. For Sale price, enter the item price if you use a Depop label, or item plus postage if you don't. PayPal isn't included, so read Total fees as a minimum.

The marketplace fee calculator page explains every preset and its source.

Marketplace fee calculator
Total fees€5.30
You receive€44.70
Effective fee rate10.6%
Enter the fee you pay.

Frequently asked questions

Is Depop free to sell on in the UK?
There is no selling fee, but a sale is not free. Depop's seller fees page, checked 13 September 2026, lists payment processing of 2.9% + £0.30 for UK-based sellers, charged on the item price plus shipping and any taxes. Example: a £20 item with £3 postage costs 2.9% × £23 + £0.30 = £0.97. A boost adds 12% on top, but only when the boost led to the sale.
What fees does Depop charge in Europe?
If you sell in a currency other than pounds, US dollars or Australian dollars, Depop's fees page lists a 10% selling fee on every sale. PayPal's processing fee comes on top, and Depop says only that it varies by location and account. Without a Depop label the 10% also covers postage. Example: a €50 item with €5 of your own shipping carries a €5.50 selling fee before PayPal. Depop's pages don't list which EU countries this covers.
When is the Depop boost fee charged?
Only when a buyer viewed, clicked or liked the boosted listing and then bought within 28 days. In the UK and US the fees page gives 12% of the item price for new listings from 23 March 2026. Depop's own pages disagree on where the 8% rate applies. Example: a buyer likes your boosted £40 jacket and buys it 20 days later with a Depop label, so the boost fee is £4.80. Depop reverses it if the sale is refunded.
Does Depop allow crosslisting?
Depop's Terms of Service, effective from 2 September 2026, say you may list the same items on other platforms, including through third-party crosslisting platforms. You must follow the Terms in full, remove the item from Depop promptly when it sells elsewhere and take full responsibility, including the refund, if it sells twice. The same Terms separately ban bots and other third-party software on Depop itself, and they don't explain how the two clauses fit together.

Sources

  1. Depop Help: Seller fees and charges checked 13 Sept 2026
  2. Depop Help: Boosted Listings checked 13 Sept 2026
  3. Depop Terms of Service (effective 2 September 2026) checked 13 Sept 2026
reva OS

Start with reva

One place to find underpriced items, check their market value and act before someone else does.

reva estimates prices from public listings. Estimates, not guarantees.