Blog Open reva
OperationsDeep guide

Are Reselling Bots Allowed? Automation and Crosslisting Rules

Bots, scrapers, crosslisting tools, duplicates and official APIs: what each marketplace's terms say, quoted and dated.

By reva editorial teamUpdated 14 min read
A reference table of marketplace terms on bots, scraping, crosslisting tools and duplicate listings, with a hand pressing the pay button at the end of a checkout
Key takeaways
  • Of the marketplaces in this reference, only Depop's terms name third-party crosslisting platforms as allowed, and the same terms ban "any bots or other third party software on the Service".
  • Vinted, eBay, Grailed, Mercari US and Kleinanzeigen ban bots, scrapers or automated access unless the platform itself gives permission: authorised, express permission, written consent, or an interface it provides.
  • eBay's User Agreement names buy-for-me agents and order flows without human review, and Grailed requires a person to start and review each transaction. No clause we read exempts software running in your own logged-in session.
  • A search of OLX's Terms found no explicit bot or scraping clause, which is not permission: in free and limited categories you get one listing per item, and a listing ended less than 14 days ago still counts.
  • Official APIs are narrow: Vinted's is open only to allowlisted Vinted Pro businesses, and eBay's API License Agreement binds developers and bans seller-arbitrage tools.

Are reselling bots allowed? On most marketplaces, only with the marketplace's own permission. Vinted, eBay, Grailed, Mercari US and Kleinanzeigen ban bots, scrapers or other automated access unless they authorise it. Depop bans bots but explicitly allows third-party crosslisting platforms. OLX's Terms had no explicit bot clause when we searched them, which is a gap in the wording, not a permission.

Below: each marketplace's clauses on bots, scraping, crosslisting tools, duplicates and official APIs, quoted from pages read on 13 September 2026; how automated buying differs from assisted checkout; and a checklist before you install anything. We have not tested any tool, and statements from vendors or summarisers are labelled. Which reseller jobs are worth automating at all is in the reseller automation guide.

How to read marketplace terms before you automate

A browser extension can click anything you can, so what software is able to do tells you nothing. The clause decides. For each marketplace, note the exact wording, the version and country, and the exception it leaves open. That exception is always in the marketplace's hands:

Exception wording Where it appears What would cover a tool
"unless such a use is authorised, offered or in any other way allowed by us" Vinted Terms A Vinted feature, or Vinted's statement covering the tool
"except with the prior express permission of eBay" eBay US User Agreement Express permission from eBay
"without our prior written consent" Grailed Terms (extensions, third-party tools) Written consent from Grailed
Automated means "not provided by us" Mercari US prohibited conduct An interface Mercari provides
"third party cross-listing platforms" allowed Depop Terms Meeting Depop's three conditions
  • "Not named" is not "allowed". If crosslisting isn't mentioned, the general software clause still applies to the tool doing it.
  • A vendor's statement is not the marketplace's permission. A help centre can describe a tool's design; it can't grant rights under another company's terms.
  • Versions matter. Vinted's UK Terms quoted here apply from 30 April 2026 and change in October 2026. eBay's quotes are from the US agreement.

Decision rule: if a clause needs the marketplace's permission and nobody can show you where it was given, treat the tool as not covered.

Are reselling bots allowed? The side-by-side table

Bots, scraping, crosslisting, duplicates and APIs by marketplace
Crosslisting toolsBots and automationScrapingDuplicates and relistingOfficial API
Vinted (UK Terms 30 Apr 2026; DE, FR, PL matching)Not namedBanned unless Vinted authorises, offers or allowsBannedNo repeated or bulk delete-and-relistPartlyallowlisted Vinted Pro businesses only
OLX.pl (Terms 27 Apr 2026)Not namedNot statedno explicit clause foundNot statedno explicit clause foundOne listing per item; ended under 14 days ago still countsNot stated
eBay (US User Agreement 28 Jun 2026)Not namedBanned without express permission, incl. buy-for-me agentsBanned without permissionOne fixed price listing of an identical item at a timeYesAPI License Agreement
Depop (ToS 2 Sep 2026)Yeswith three conditionsBots and third-party software bannedBannedNot statedNot stated
Grailed (ToS)Not namedExtensions need written consent; purchases need human reviewBannedNot statedNot stated
Poshmark (Guidelines, ToS)Not namedUnauthorised automation bannedBannedAutomated delete-and-repost bannedNot stated
Mercari USNot namedAutomated means not provided by Mercari bannedBannedNot statedNot stated
Kleinanzeigen (via summariser)Not namedBanned without written consentBanned without written consentNot statedmax two accountsNot stated
Allegro, Allegro LokalnieNot statedNot statedcurrent Terms not readableNot statedNot statedNot stated
“Not named”: the clauses we read don't mention it. “Not stated”: our research found no statement, not that no rule exists. Neither means permission.Source: Each marketplace's own terms and policies, read 13 Sept 2026; wording shortened

Two patterns stand out. Every marketplace whose terms we could read, apart from OLX, has a bot or automated-access clause, and any exception runs through the marketplace. And only Depop names crosslisting tools; elsewhere, how a tool posts (browser, API, server) decides which clause it meets.

Vinted: external tools, scraping, delete-and-relist and the Pro Integrations API

Vinted's UK Terms (from 30 April 2026) list these among things users must not do; the German, French (8 September 2025) and Polish (15 September 2025) versions carry matching clauses:

  • External tools: "use any kind of external software tools (including but not limited to: bots, scraping programs, crawling programs, spiders) when registering on the Site and/or when using the Site and/or Services … unless such a use is authorised, offered or in any other way allowed by us". Promoting items and adding items to favourites are named as purposes.
  • Scraping: "data mine, screen scrape, crawl, disassemble, decompile or reverse engineer any part of the Site".
  • Relisting: "delete and re-list the same Item multiple times or multiple Items in bulk" (PL: "wielokrotnie usuwać i ponownie ogłaszać tego samego Przedmiotu lub wielu Przedmiotów w formie zbiorczej").
  • Messages: "unsolicited or mass messages that are sent to 5 or more Users".

Sanctions run from a warning through "demote, hide or remove your Content" to temporary or permanent blocks, and Vinted "may sometimes use automated software or algorithms to detect" breaches. No durations are given for bot use.

The official route is narrow. Vinted Pro Integrations (Items API, Orders API, webhooks) "is available only to a limited set of allowlisted Vinted Pro businesses", and Vinted's Polish help page says Pro is not open to Polish businesses.

Clause-by-clause detail and enforcement claims sorted into official and unofficial are on Vinted bot and automation rules. For moving stock onto Vinted by hand, see how to crosslist to Vinted.

OLX: one listing per item, duplicates and automation signals

OLX.pl's Terms (effective 27 April 2026) are the one document here where our text search found no explicit bot or scraping clause. The rules that exist target what repost automation produces:

Rule What the Terms say
Duplicates, free and limited categories (plus Nieruchomości, Noclegi, Zwierzęta) One listing for the same item at a time; one you ended less than 14 days before still counts
Duplicates, other paid and limited categories Several allowed from one account if they differ in location, including district
Spam (§8.18) Similar or duplicate listings repeated many times are removed
Automation signals Reviews posted in a way suggesting automation may be removed; moderation itself uses automated tools

An auto-repost tool that ends listings and re-adds them creates duplicates inside the 14-day window by design. To get a listing seen again, Annex 2's Odświeżenie (refresh) moves it up as if newly added.

Decision rule: on OLX, edit or refresh a live listing; never end it and post the same item again within 14 days, by hand or by tool. The exact wording is in OLX refresh vs relist, and quotas are in the OLX reselling guide.

eBay: the bots clause (§8.2), duplicate listings and the API licence

eBay's US User Agreement, effective 28 June 2026 for existing users, prohibits using:

"any robot, spider, scraper, data mining tools, data gathering and extraction tools, or any automated means (including, without limitation buy-for-me agents, LLM-driven bots, or any end-to-end flow that attempts to place orders without human review) to access our Services for any purpose, except with the prior express permission of eBay"

In our summary, the same agreement lets sellers use translation, image-editing and generative-AI tools to create listings while staying responsible for accuracy. We read only the US version.

Duplicates (US policy): no more than one fixed price listing of an identical item at a time, across categories and usernames, and an "inconsequential bonus item" doesn't make listings different. Identical auctions without Buy It Now are the exception. Breaches can bring listing removal, warnings, restrictions or suspension.

The API License Agreement binds developers, and requires their apps to comply with the User Agreement too. What matters when you judge an API-based tool:

  • Seller arbitrage: apps may not "promote or engage in seller arbitrage", for example "automatically ordering sold items from other third-party sites" or repricing eBay listings in response to other sites' prices.
  • Price modelling: using eBay content to suggest or model eBay prices needs express written consent.
  • Freshness and limits: displayed listing data may be at most 6 hours older than eBay's; exceeding call limits can mean suspension.
  • AI training: eBay content may not train machine learning models or LLMs.

Decision rule: if an eBay tool reprices from other sites or orders stock from them automatically, ask how that fits the seller-arbitrage clause before connecting your account.

Depop: crosslisting tools explicitly allowed

Depop's Terms of Service, "Effective from 2 September 2026", say you "may simultaneously list your items for sale on other platforms and/or marketplaces … via third party cross-listing platforms" if you:

  1. comply with the terms in full;
  2. remove the item from Depop promptly if it sells elsewhere;
  3. accept full responsibility if it sells on both, including refunding the buyer.

The same terms ban users who "mine data, scrape or crawl the Service … or use any bots or other third party software on the Service". The permission covers crosslisting platforms, not auto-offer or auto-follow bots bundled into the same subscription.

Decision rule: a crosslister on Depop is covered only while you meet all three conditions; check every other automation in the tool against the bots clause. Fees and boosts are in Depop fees for sellers.

Grailed and Poshmark: extensions and human review of each purchase

Grailed's terms ban robots, scrapers and "artificial intelligence or machine learning systems (including large language models)" used to collect data; automated offer, purchase or checkout tools "without direct human initiation and review of each transaction"; and "any applications, browser extensions, plugins, or third-party tools that interact with our Services without our prior written consent". Crosslisting isn't named, but an extension-based crosslister matches the last clause.

Poshmark's Community Guidelines don't "allow Poshers to use unauthorized programs or other forms of automation", naming "deleting and reposting content, liking, sharing, following, and unfollowing"; human helpers are allowed. Its Terms ban software that collects data and multiple accounts "to evade punishment or avoid restrictions".

Decision rule: on Grailed, no written consent means no extension; on Poshmark, keep sharing, following and reposting manual.

Mercari, Kleinanzeigen and Allegro

  • Mercari (US) bans "any robot, spambot, spider, crawler, scraper or other automated means or interface not provided by us to access the Service or to extract data". Crosslisting isn't addressed on that page.
  • Kleinanzeigen (§5 Nr. 1) bans "Crawler, Spider, Scraper oder andere automatisierte Mechanismen" without express written consent, and allows at most two accounts per user, one private and one commercial. We read these terms through a summariser, which dated them 17 February 2024; check the live page.
  • Allegro and Allegro Lokalnie: Allegro's current Terms returned an error when our research tried to read them, and the Lokalnie pages we read cover fees, not tools. No clause to quote is not a permission.

Decision rule: where no clause could be read, ask the marketplace's support in writing before you automate, and keep the reply.

Automated buying vs assisted checkout: control and security, not a rules exemption

Software that buys for you and software that takes you to checkout differ in who controls the order. The terms we read don't separate them. eBay names flows that place orders "without human review" and still requires permission for automated access in general. Grailed wants a person to start and review each transaction. Vinted's external-tools clause covers software used "when using the Site and/or Services" and sets no carve-out for buying. No clause we read exempts software running in your own logged-in session, so whether a marketplace permits it depends on its terms.

Tool types by who controls the order, not by what is allowed
Uses your loginWho presses payClauses to read first
Unattended autobuy botYesThe softwareeBay §8.2; Grailed automated purchases; Vinted external tools
Browser extension acting for youYes, your live sessionDepends on the extensionVinted external tools; Grailed extensions
Assisted session that stops before paymentYesYou, after reviewing the orderThe same tool clauses; none exempts in-session software
Official API integrationAccess the marketplace grantsOur research covers seller-side APIs onlyVinted Pro allowlist; eBay API License Agreement
Alert that only notifies youNot alwaysNo one: it doesn't buyVinted scraping and external tools; scraper clauses elsewhere
Sorted by control of the order. Whether any row is permitted depends on each marketplace's terms, not on this grouping.Source: Our grouping of tool types; clause references from terms read 13 Sept 2026

Control does change your exposure when something goes wrong. Ask any buying tool:

  • Who presses pay: the software, or you after seeing the item and total?
  • Does it store your marketplace password or payment details?
  • Do you get screenshots or timestamps of what it did, for an appeal?

Decision rule: if a tool can pay without your click, it is the pattern eBay's clause names. If it stops before payment, the permission question still goes back to the marketplace's terms. Assisted checkout vs autobuy bots defines both models step by step.

Reading an automation tool's claims critically

Claim you'll see What it tells you What to ask
"Safe at human pace" (some bot vendors' blogs) Vinted's clause has no pace or volume exception Where does the marketplace say pace matters?
"Does not automatically publish listings to Vinted" (List Perfectly, 29 May 2026) You click publish; a design choice, not Vinted's authorisation What else happens in my account without my click?
"API-first whenever a marketplace supports it" (Crosslist) Some marketplaces go through an API, others an extension Which of mine use which?
Extension "uses your existing browser session" (Closo) The tool acts as you Which clause covers that on each marketplace?
"24–72h" restriction figures Not published by the marketplaces in our research Where is the official source?

On Vinted, one fact settles most claims: its API is open only to allowlisted Pro businesses, and none of Vendoo, List Perfectly, Flyp or Crosslist says it uses it. The crosslisting guide for European resellers compares what crosslisters say about Vinted support and regions.

A risk checklist before you install anything

Run it per marketplace the tool touches, not once per tool:

  • Find the clause on bots, third-party tools or automated access, with its version and date
  • Note the exception wording: authorised, express permission, written consent, or an interface the marketplace provides
  • Ask the vendor which route it relies on and where the marketplace says so
  • List everything the tool does without your click: publish, delete, relist, favourite, offer, message, buy
  • Check those actions against the duplicate, relisting and messaging rules
  • Confirm who presses pay, and whether your password or card details are stored
  • Keep dated screenshots of settings and actions, and re-read the terms after updates such as Vinted's in October 2026

If a tool fails two or more checks for a marketplace, keep that marketplace manual.

Frequently asked questions

Which marketplaces allow crosslisting tools?
Of the terms we read on 13 September 2026, only Depop's name them. Its Terms of Service, effective 2 September 2026, let you list elsewhere "via third party cross-listing platforms" if you follow its terms, remove the item promptly when it sells elsewhere and take responsibility for a double sale. Vinted, eBay, Grailed, Poshmark, Mercari US and Kleinanzeigen don't mention crosslisting, so their software and automation clauses decide whether a tool's method is covered.
Is scraping Vinted allowed?
Vinted's terms say no. Users must not "data mine, screen scrape, crawl" any part of the site, and a separate clause bars scraping programs, crawlers and spiders unless Vinted authorises, offers or otherwise allows them. We found no published exception for price monitors or datasets. The only documented data route is the Pro Integrations API for allowlisted Vinted Pro businesses. Updated terms take effect on 5 October 2026 (Germany, France) and 8 October 2026 (UK, Poland).
Does eBay allow automated buying?
Not without eBay's say-so. The US User Agreement, effective 28 June 2026 for existing users, bans automated access "for any purpose, except with the prior express permission of eBay", and its examples name buy-for-me agents and flows that place orders without human review. A tool that pauses for your review gives you control of the order, but it isn't eBay's permission for the tool's automated access. We didn't read eBay's UK, German or Polish agreements.
Does eBay allow duplicate listings?
For fixed price items, no: eBay's US policy allows one listing of an identical item per seller at a time, and a second username or category doesn't get around that. Identical auctions are allowed without Buy It Now, but only one without bids is shown. Parts that fit several devices can have up to 5 listings, each naming its model. For several units, eBay points you to one multi-quantity listing or variations.
Can Grailed ban me for using an extension?
Its terms prohibit the behaviour: they bar browser extensions, plugins and third-party tools that interact with Grailed without its prior written consent, and automated purchase tools unless a person starts and reviews each transaction. Our research didn't capture Grailed's sanctions section, so we can't say what it does after a breach. Before installing anything that posts, offers or buys on Grailed, ask the vendor to show Grailed's written consent.
Can a marketplace ban me for using a tool?
Yes, the terms we read give them the means. Vinted lists warnings, demoting or removing content, restricted features, and temporary or permanent blocks, with detection that may be automated. eBay's duplicate listings policy ends in restrictions or account suspension. OLX removes duplicate listings repeated as spam. None of the marketplace pages in our research publishes a block length for bot use, so a duration quoted on a blog is not official.

Sources

  1. Vinted UK Terms and Conditions (version applicable from 30-04-2026, with update notice) checked 13 Sept 2026
  2. Vinted DE Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (version from 08-09-2025, with update notice) checked 13 Sept 2026
  3. Vinted FR Conditions générales (version from 08-09-2025, with update notice) checked 13 Sept 2026
  4. Vinted PL Regulamin (version from 15-09-2025, with update notice) checked 13 Sept 2026
  5. Vinted PL Help: commercial selling and Vinted Pro checked 13 Sept 2026
  6. Vinted Pro Integrations documentation checked 13 Sept 2026
  7. Value Added Resource: Vinted US, UK and Australia terms, October 2026 checked 13 Sept 2026
  8. Value Added Resource: Vinted Europe terms, October 2026 checked 13 Sept 2026
  9. OLX.pl Terms (Regulamin), effective 27 April 2026 checked 13 Sept 2026
  10. OLX.pl Annex 2: promotion services checked 13 Sept 2026
  11. eBay User Agreement (US, effective 28 June 2026 for existing users) checked 13 Sept 2026
  12. eBay US Duplicate listings policy checked 13 Sept 2026
  13. eBay Developers Program API License Agreement checked 13 Sept 2026
  14. Depop Terms of Service (effective 2 September 2026) checked 13 Sept 2026
  15. Grailed Terms of Service checked 13 Sept 2026
  16. Poshmark Community Guidelines checked 13 Sept 2026
  17. Poshmark Terms of Service checked 13 Sept 2026
  18. Mercari US: Prohibited conduct checked 13 Sept 2026
  19. Kleinanzeigen Nutzungsbedingungen (read via a summariser) checked 13 Sept 2026
  20. List Perfectly blog: Vinted integration and compliant crosslisting (29 May 2026) checked 13 Sept 2026
  21. Crosslist homepage FAQ (API-first method) checked 13 Sept 2026
  22. Closo homepage checked 13 Sept 2026
reva OS

Start with reva

One place to find underpriced items, check their market value and act before someone else does.

reva estimates prices from public listings. Estimates, not guarantees.